88th Annual Drama League Awards To be Held in May, ’22!

Must read

The 88th Annual Drama League Awards will be held in the Ziegfeld Ballroom. After the 2020 and 2021 awards were awarded through virtual ceremonies during the COVID-19 pandemic. The annual ceremony and its pre-conference industry reception resumed live celebrations in the 2022 awards event.

Nominations for the 88th Annual Drama League Awards

Nominations for the 2021-2022 Broadway and off-Broadway seasons will be announced on April 22, 2022. Works need to be previewed between March 16, 2021, and April 20, 2022, to be eligible.

Broadway - Last minute offers, monthly free tickets, up to 80% on discounts & many more...
Last minute offers, monthly free tickets, up to 80% on discounts & many more...

“During this time, we all know how important it is to be together. It is the lifeblood of theater. And that’s the reason why many people regard it as an irreplaceable part of their lives,” said Gabriel Stelian-Shanks, artistic director of the Drama League. “As the oldest drama award in North America, the 2022 Drama League Awards will celebrate the world’s greatest talent. Also, the revival and return of our industry, while reveling in the joy of being together again!”


One of the highlights of the 2022 awards ceremony will be the historic inclusion of the first competitive awards for the Outstanding Direction of a Play and Outstanding Direction of a Musical. The focus of the 2021 awards ceremony will be on digital drama productions released during the COVID-19 pandemic.’s star-studded “Take Me to the World: Sondheim 90th Birthday Celebration” won the Drama League Outstanding Digital Concert Production Award. The great work begins with the scene from the angels in the United States. The show was broadcast exclusively from’s YouTube channel on October 8, 2020. It aimed to fund ​​amfAR’s fight against COVID-19 fund, and won the Outstanding Digital Theater Personal Production Award.

Previous winners

Moulin Rouge! Musical Tony Award winner Danny Burstein was named the latest winner of the Drama League Outstanding Performance Award on June 18, 2020. The Drama League Award was first awarded in 1922 and formally established in 1935. It is the oldest drama award in the United States. They are the only major theater awards selected by cross-border individuals in the theater industry (especially industry professionals, producers, artists, audiences, and critics who are members of the National Alliance for Musical Theatre).


24 Hour Plays Broadway Gala Announces Cast and Creative!

Credits featured image: Drama League Awards

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

More info currated for you!