Stand up applause for the winners of the 2021 Jimmy Awards – Elena Holder and Bryson Battle. They were crowned champions at the annual awards ceremony on July 15. Corbin Bleu co-hosted the event with special guest Mandy Gonzalez. Holder and Battle are both from North Carolina, and they will each receive $25,000 to continue their education.

Jimmy Awards, 2021

As previously announced, the awards are virtual, and all coaching, rehearsals, and activities are conducted online. Holder amazed the judges with the performance of “Screw Loose” in Cry-Baby. Battle sang “Heaven on their Minds” by the superstar of Jesus Christ. The talent show includes mixed performances and production performances by all 72 nominees from 36 regions in the United States and solo performances. Jenni Barber, Janet Dacal, Eden Espinosa, Maryann Hu, Adam Kantor, and Eliseo Roman served as mentors to the nominees. Michael McElroy served as coaching coordinator.

Cast and crew

By winning the Jimmy awards this year, Elena Holder and Bryson Battle became part of an elite company. The event was directed by Van Kaplan and choreographed by Kesara Rama. Michael Moricz is a music arranger and conductor, and Mary Jane Brennan is a writer. Past participants of the Jimmy Awards include Eva Noblezada, who has been nominated for the Tony Award twice. And 2018 winners Andrew Barth Feldman and Renee Rapp. (Reneé Rapp), they made their Broadway debut Broadway within a year after the award. Click here to watch Holden’s performance, click here to watch Battle’s performance! Watch the full ceremony below.

National High School Musical Theater Award®

Credits – Jimmy Awards official Facebook page

NHSMTA®, also known as the National High School Musical Theater Award®, was established in 2009 by the Pittsburgh CLO and Nederlander Alliances. Its aim is to promote the importance of school theater arts education and reward students for outstanding performance. The program affects more than 140,000 students each year who participate in high school musical competitions. They are sponsored by more than 40 professional theaters across the United States. Since its inception, NHSMTA has been a catalyst for awarding more than $4,000,000 in educational scholarships to worthy young performers. Also known as the Jimmy Award®, named after Broadway Manager James M. Nederlander, this year-round plan is managed by the Broadway Alliance Foundation.

Pass Over updates safety measures.

Credits featured image – Jimmy Awards official Facebook page